Important Facts About Tarot Card Reading You Should Know Before Watching High Priestess

Neel Raju Nalawade

April 2, 2020


4 min

ZEE5 original series High Priestess starring Amala Akkineni is a thriller that will send chills down your spine and how. The story revolves around Swathy Reddy, a tarot card reader who uses this skill to solve people’s problems and connect with the supernatural world. Tarot card reading is an art that requires enough knowledge and experience. It helps one understand their spiritual, emotional, and physical world better. Here are some facts about this practice that you must know before you sit down to binge-watch High Priestess.

Watch the episode of Mazhya Navryachi Bayko here.

1. The origin and journey of the Tarot cards

Tarot Cards deck

Tarot is all about your intuition and can help you connect with your inner voice and embrace the messages it sends you. These future-predicting cards were invented in the 18th century. It is believed that the first tarot cards were likely used in a game known as ‘tarocchi appropriati’ that became popular in Italy.

2. The study of Tarot cards

Tarot Cards spread

The technical term used for tarot cards is ‘Taromancy’, which vaguely means ‘looking for premonitions.’ Most people believe that tarot cards are used to predict one’s future. However, they are actually used to understand a person’s problem by digging deep into his/her thoughts. These cards do not predict your future but greatly help in achieving self-actualisation.

3. The meaning of a deck

Tarot Cards arcana

A deck of tarot consists of 78 cards. They are divided into two Arcanas, namely Major Arcana and Minor Arcana. Aranca means mysteries or secrets. The Major Arcana has 22 cards and are also known as trump cards. These cards help one determine one’s journey towards achieving enlightenment. On the other hand, the Minor Arcana has 56 cards. They are further divided into four suits, each of which represents one elemental sign.

4. Minor Aranca explained!

High Priestess Card

The Minor Arcana card will show you what’s happening in your daily life and how it is affecting you. This card is divided into four suits- cups, pentacles, swords, and wands. The cups represent the water element and focus on the emotional issues of a person. The pentacles represent the earth and focus on material possessions. The swords represent air and focus on overthinking and inner conflict going on between the mind and the soul of a person. Lastly, the wand suit represents fire and focuses on ambition and professional conflicts. A proper study of all the suits helps the reader draw upon a conclusion of one’s life.

Court Tarot Cards

Like common playing cards, the tarot also has four suits- king, queen, knight and an additional court card called page. These court cards represent people or their influence on the querent’s life. The court card with a king symbol represents masculine power and authority. A court card with a queen represents emotions, desire and feminine power. The knight card represents youth and its vigour. Page cards represent children or adults who are like children. A systematic study of page cards helps the reader in analysing which force is affecting a person’s life.

Now that you know some important things about the Tarot cards, you are all set to watch the mystery thriller, High Priestess streaming on ZEE5.

For more entertainment, watch popular Marathi serials and latest movies streaming on ZEE5.

Get all the live updates on Coronavirus on the ZEE5 news section.

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader