Three Senior PDP Leaders Resign Following Mehbooba Mufti’s Tricolour Remarks

The three politicians, including Rajya Sabha MP TS Bajwa cited suffocation and discomfort caused by Mehbooba Mufti within the party

Raghav N

October 27, 2020

Trending News

1 min


Three senior People’s Democratic Party (PDP) leaders resigned from the political outfit yesterday following party President Mehbooba Mufti’s anti-tricolour remarks on October 23. Former Rajya Sabha MP TS Bajwa, former Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Ved Mahajan and former State Secretary Hussain Ali Wafa disassociated themselves from the PDP citing discomfort and suffocation within the party caused by Mufti’s unfavourable remarks.

In a press conference last week, the ex-J&K CM said that she would not hold the Indian flag till Article 370 is restored in the former state of Jammu and Kashmir. She further referred to the central government as dacoits who snatched away the freedom of the Kashmiri people.

Her remarks led to widespread protests in Jammu as Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) activists took to the streets. A Tiranga Yatra (Flag March) was conducted between Srinagar and Jammu yesterday as a mark of respect for the Indian flag. Earlier, BJP workers had stormed into the PDP office premises and hoisted the flag close to the location.

Watch all the latest political news only on ZEE5




Related Topics

Related News

More Loader