Opposition To Boycott Rajya Sabha Until Three Demands Are Met

Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu appeals to members of Opposition to rethink.

Sohil Nikam

September 22, 2020

Trending News

2 min


Opposition parties, led by Congress, staged a walkout from the Rajya Sabha, demanding that Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu reinstate the eight members who were suspended for “unruly behaviour” during House proceedings. Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad has said that the boycott will prevail until the Government accepts their three demands. He said, “Government to bring another bill under which no private player can purchase below MSP, MSP to be fixed under formula recommended by Swaminathan Commission, and Government agencies like FCI shouldn’t buy crops below MSP.”

Meanwhile, Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu has made a fresh appeal to members of all Opposition parties to rethink their decision. The eight suspended MPs have ended their sit-in protest on Parliament lawns and have joined the boycott of the Rajya Sabha with the other Opposition members. “All the opposition parties have boycotted the rest of the session (in Rajya Sabha), nobody is attending the session. They appealed to us to withdraw the dharna and since nobody is attending the session till the suspension is revoked, there is no point in continuing with the dharna,” said suspended Congress MP Nasir Hussain.

Get the latest on politics only on ZEE5.

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader