Nitish Kumar Sworn In As Bihar CM, First Cabinet Meeting To Be Held Today

The 14 member council will have two deputy chief ministers, Tarkishore Prasad and  Renu Kumari from the BJP, clearly elevating the saffron party’s political stature in Bihar

Raghav N

November 17, 2020

Trending News

2 min


The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) officially came back to power in Bihar, as Janata Dal United (JD(U)) chief Nitish Kumar was sworn in as the state’s chief minister yesterday. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) handpicked two instead of one deputy CM, Renu Kumari and Tarkishore Prasad. The new government held its first official cabinet meeting today morning.

A 14-member cabinet also took part in the oath-taking ceremony with five ministers from the JD(U) and one each from Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) and Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP). The 69-year-old veteran politician retained the home, general administration, vigilance and three more portfolios for himself. Santos Manjhi, son of former Bihar CM, Jitan Ram Manjhi took charge of minor irrigation and scheduled castes (SC) and scheduled tribes (ST) welfare.

Nitish Kumar in his speech thanked the people of Bihar for giving him his office again and committed towards working together for the betterment of the region. Prime Minister Narendra Modi also congratulated the new cabinet and wished the ministers well for their future endeavors.

Meanwhile, defeated Rahtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Yadav took a jibe at the seven-time CM calling him a ‘nominated CM’, referring to the JD(U)’s poor performance at the polls. He further wrote that he wishes for the new government to focus on health, education, employment and the overall development of Bihar.

Catch all the latest political news only on ZEE5

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader