Nitish Kumar Expected To Take CM Oath On November 16

After Prime Minister Narendra Modi confirmed that Nitish Kumar will continue in his post as Bihar CM, preparations are in full swing for the 16 November swearing-in ceremony

Raghav N

November 12, 2020

Trending News

2 min


After the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led National Democratic Alliance’s (NDA) victory in the Bihar Elections, Janata Dal (United) President Nitish Kumar is expected to take his oath as the state’s chief minister on 16 November. This will be the veteran politician’s seventh term as a CM, a record he will hold for being sworn in the maximum number of times to this post.

BJP’s excellent show in Bihar assured another term to Nitish, despite the JD(U) not securing as many seats as anticipated. Prime Minister Narendra Modi during his speech at the BJP headquarters yesterday, confirmed Kumar’s continuation in the post as committed by the saffron party prior to the elections.

Details about the new government and the cabinet ministers are expected after the Diwali break. Both the parties will sit together to chalk out the final list of custodians for the state government. Preparations for the same have started, according to sources.

The BJP contested for 110 seats in the legislative assembly polls, winning 72 seats, while the homegrown JD(U) party fared poorly securing only 42 of the 115 seats it fought for. Opposition alliance Mahagathbandhan’s chief ministerial candidate and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader Tejashwi Prasad Yadav scored as the single largest party in the elections, but fell inches short of forming a new government.

Catch all the latest political news only on ZEE5






Related Topics

Related News

More Loader