3 min read

MP Jaya Bachchan To Campaign For Ruling Party TMC In Bengal

Aditi Sharma

April 6, 2021

3 min


As a part of the ruling Trinamool Congress’ star campaigners, actor-turned-politician, and Member of Parliament from the Samajwadi Party, Jaya Bachchan is all set to campaign for the party’s candidates from 5 April to 8 April.

On 5 April 2021, TMC party leaders made an announcement that veteran actor and Samajwadi Party MP Jaya Bachchan would be campaigning for the ruling Trinamool Congress during the ongoing assembly elections in West Bengal. In the first two phases, polls in 60 assembly constituencies have already been held while elections to the remaining 234 seats will be held in six more phases till 29 April.

A senior TMC leader said that Bachchan would participate in at least four roadshows. These roadshows would be held on 6-7 April. According to media reports, she may even share the stage with chief minister Mamata Banerjee in a public rally during her stay in the state till 8 April. The actor landed at the Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport in Kolkata on 4 April and was received by senior TMC leaders Derek O’Brien and Chandrima Bhattacharya. Jaya Bachchan will campaign for TMC candidate from Tollygunge Arup Biswas on 4 April.

Also Read|Kerala’s Transgender Candidate Withdraws From Assembly Elections Due To Alleged Harassment

The constituency is set to witness a tough fight as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has fielded Union Minister and party MP Babul Supriyo from the seat. The development comes days after West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee wrote a letter to opposition leaders including Samajwadi Party chief Akhilesh Yadav “for a united and effective struggle against the BJP’s attacks on democracy and Constitution”. The letter also suggested that a meeting should be held after the assembly polls to “deliberate the issues and chart out a plan of action”.

Also Read|MS Dhoni’s Old Friend Pradip Sarkar To Contest For This Seat In West Bengal Elections

This letter has been sent to several opposition party leaders including Congress president Sonia Gandhi, NCP chief Sharad Pawar, Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy, DMK leader MK Stalin, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, Samajwadi Party leader Akhilesh Yadav, CPI (ML) leader Dipankar Bhattacharya, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, and Mehbooba Mufti.

Also Read|UP Man Breaks Celibacy Vow for Panchayat Elections

Also Read|Unique Wedding In Deoria To Contest Uttar Pradesh Panchayat Elections

Related Topics

More Loader