IPL 2021: BCCI Announces The Complete Schedule Of The Tournament

BCCI recently made a big announcement regarding the schedule of the upcoming IPL tournament. The event will kickstart on April 9 and end on May 30, 2021.

Aditi Sharma

March 11, 2021

Trending News

3 min


Indian Premier League will return home nearly after two years as Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, and Kolkata will get ready to host the event. BCCI announced the full schedule of IPL 2021 on March 6, 2021. The season will commence on 9 April 2021 in Chennai with a high octane match between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore.  The World’s Largest Cricket Stadium –  Moterra Stadium in Ahmedabad will host the playoffs as well as the final on May 30, 2021.

During the league stage, each team is set to play at four venues. There would be 56 league matches, out of which Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata & Bengaluru will host 10 matches each while Ahmedabad and Delhi will host 8 matches each. One of the highlights of this edition of the IPL will be the fact that all matches will be played at neutral venues, no team will play at their home venue. All teams will play at four out of six venues during the league stage.

Also Read|BCCI to host IPL 2021 in six cities, teams to play at neutral venues for first time in India

There will be a total of 11 doubleheaders where 6 teams will play three-afternoon matches & two teams will play two-afternoon matches. The afternoon games are slated for a 3:30 PM IST to start while the evening games will have a 7:30 PM IST start. The toss of the matches will be scheduled at 3:00 PM and 7:00 PM.

Also Read|Dale Steyn apologises for his remark on IPL

After hosting a successful event in UAE, BCCI is confident about hosting a good event at home by following all the safety protocols amid the ongoing pandemic. The fixtures of the tournament have been mapped in a way that every team will travel only three times during the league stage, thus reducing commute and minimizing risk. At the start of the event, the tournament will not allow spectators, and the call on the allowance of spectators will be taken at a later stage of the tournament.

Also Read|SWOT analysis of Mumbai Indians post-IPL 2021 auction

Also Read|IPL 2021 Players Auction: Five Famous Batsmen Picked During The Bidding Event

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader