IPL 2021: BCCI Announces Schedule And Venues, Selects ‘Neutral Venues’ For Each Team

The BCCI released the schedule and venue for IPL 2021 matches and has announced that no team will have home advantage.

Vatsal Thakore

March 10, 2021

Trending News

3 min


After the IPL auctions of 2021 were held on February 18, the cricket fans got really excited about the new season of the tournament. Recently, on March 7, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) also released the full schedule of this year’s tournament. Along with the schedule, the five venues were also announced, and Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium was kept as an ‘additional option’.

Watch the detailed video here:

The Indian Premier League or the IPL, has been a matter of rejoicing for cricket fans all around the world. Last year in 2020, when the IPL was previously thought to be cancelled due to the pandemic, the cricket fans were really upset. However, the tournament was later conducted from September 2020 – November 2020 in the United Arab Emirates, with all the safety needed to control the spread of coronavirus.

This year, the IPL is coming back to India and will be held in five cities. The cities are – Kolkata, Delhi, Bangalore, Ahmedabad, and Chennai, with Mumbai as an additional option. Reports say that Mumbai has not been considered as the main venue due to the gradual increase in the COVID-19 cases in Maharashtra. The new cricket stadium of Motera, Ahmedabad, the Narendra Modi Stadium, has also been made a prime venue for the tournament matches. BCCI also announced that this time, they have selected all ‘neutral grounds’ for the event, so as to not give home advantage to any teams.

Also read: IPL 2021 Auction: Glenn Maxwell Wishes To Join RCB Under Virat Kohli’s Captaincy

The neutral venues without giving home advantages to any teams are selected in a way that the team Mumbai Indians will not play any matches in the Wankhede stadium, or the Chennai Super Kings will not play any matches in Chennai’s Chidambaram Stadium, and so on. These six stadiums will only be the venues of the matches of the two teams for which they are not the home ground (for example, Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians can play in Chennai, but Chennai Super Kings will not).

For more stories, stay connected to ZEE5.

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader