Baltic States Impose Travel Ban On Belarus President Over Electoral Fraud

Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia imposed the ban on President Lukashenko and 29 others over rigging of votes, leading the EU by example

Raghav N

September 1, 2020

Trending News

2 min


The Baltic states of Lithuania, Estonia and Latvia have imposed travel bans on Belarus President Alexander Lukashenko and 29 other Belarusian officers over electoral fraud.

The three small Baltic states are in the European Union and both Lithuania and Latvia border Belarus. The Republic of Belarus is a major overland route for European goods bound for Russia and carries pipelines used to ship Russian oil to Europe.

The ban, that was imposed yesterday came after the three states decided to jump to action and lead the other European countries to also take a firm stance against Lukashenko, who has been accused of rigging elections. The 66-year-old leader, who has been in power for more than 26 years has meanwhile denied any polling scam.

While the resentment against the Belarus regime and a few others has been evident in many western European nations, their governments have been cautious due to the proximity of the country with Russia.

Lithuania has been hosting opposition candidate Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya, who fled there after the elections her supporters believe she won.

Meanwhile, Russian president Vladimir Putin has extended an invitation to Lukashenko to Moscow as a sign of Kremlin support

Catch all the latest international news only on ZEE5

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader