A Look At Nitish Kumar, The Record-Breaking CM’s Career Graph

The Bihar CM will come to power for a record-breaking seventh time this year, after his alliance with the BJP under the NDA assured him of a resounding victory at the legislative polls

Raghav N

November 11, 2020

Trending News

2 min


As stated by Bihar’s incumbent Chief Minister Nitish Kumar in one of his final election rallies, all is well that ends well. The Bharatiya Janata party (BJP) assured another term for the CM with its resounding victory in Bihar. Despite Nitish’s party, the Janata Dal (United) securing only 42 seats out of the 115 it contested for, the BJP is still expected to stand by its promise of giving the JD(U) chief his next and last term in office. Images and videos of JD(U) workers celebrating at the party office emerged online.

With the 69-year-old Kumar taking the oath this year for his seventh stint, he will hold a record for becoming a chief minister of an Indian state the maximum number of times. He first came to power as the CM on 3 March 2000 for just seven days before his government was dissolved. On November 24, 2005, he resumed office for the second time. His third term started on 26 November 2010 and while he resigned from his post in 2014, he was back in power on 22 February 2015.

The veteran politician again took his oath on 20 November 2015, joining hands with the BJP this time instead of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD). His last swearing in ceremony took place in 2017, after which he is expected to rule over Bihar again in his 2020 term.

An association of close to 24 years between the BJP and JD(U) saw the two parties fight together in five Vidhan Sabha elections. While Nitish was always the one with the bigger margins, the Narendra Modi led saffron party has emerged as his saviour and the torch bearer this time.

Watch all the latest political news only on ZEE5

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader