5 Things You Should Know About Tarot Cards Before Watching ZEE5 Original High Priestess

Sneha Bale

April 28, 2019


1 min

1. The History Of Tarot Cards

ZEE5 Original High Priestess stars Amala Akkineni and showcases concepts that have never been explored before. It mainly revolves around the art of tarot cards and a psychic, Swathy Reddy, who helps people solve their difficulties. Before you sit down to binge watch the eight-episode series, here’s what you must know about tarot cards.

Tarot cards were developed as a divine intervention method only in the 18th century. It is believed that the deck of tarot cards emerged from the Italian card game ‘Tarocchi’ which was played in the 15th century.

2. Understanding Tarot Cards

The technical term used for tarot cards is ‘Taromancy’, which vaguely means looking for premonitions by using tarot cards. While most people think of tarot card readings as equal to fortune telling, both aren’t the same. Over the centuries, tarot cards have been a means to get clarity on any situation in a person’s life. In no way does it foresee the future of the querent (one who seeks tarot card readings).

3. A Deck Of Tarot Cards

A deck of tarot cards consists of 78 cards. They are divided into two Arcanas, which means mysteries or secrets, namely Major Arcana and Minor Arcana. The Major Arcana has 22 cards and are also called trump cards. They are the concepts that determine one’s journey towards enlightenment. The Minor Arcana has 56 cards. They are further divided into four suits — each of which represents one elemental sign.

4. The Four Suits Of Minor Arcana And The Elemental Signs

The Minor Arcana is divided into four suits — Cups, Pentacles, Swords and Wands. The Minor Arcana cards represent various issues in the querent’s life. Cups represent the water element and focus on emotional issues. Pentacles represent the Earth and focus on material possessions. Swords represent air and focus on overthinking and inner conflict. Lastly, the Wand suit represents fire and focuses on ambition and professional conflicts.

5. Court Cards In The Deck Of Tarot Cards

Like a deck of playing cards have King, Queen and Jack, the deck of tarot cards have King, Queen, Knight and an additional court card called Page. These Court Cards represent people or the influence of the people in the querent’s life. Court Card with a King represents masculine power and authority. Court Card with a Queen represents emotions, desire and feminine power. The Knight Card represents youth and its vigour. Page cards represent children or adults who are like children.

Now that you have got your basics cleared, head to ZEE5 to watch High Priestess. If you want to watch something funny instead, watch B. Tech on ZEE5.

Related Topics

Related News

More Loader