Saurav Ganguly To Remain The BCCI President Until The Court Hearing In January

Saurav Ganguly, Jay Shah, and Jayesh George will stay in power until the new constitution amendment applications are reviewed by the SC in January third week. Have a look at the details.

Sania Kader

December 11, 2020

Trending News

3 min


Saurav Ganguly, Jay Shah, and Jayesh George will stay in power in the BCCI until the Supreme Court gives its final verdict in January 2021. The three official, who are currently the President, Secretary, and Joint Secretary, respectively, have surpassed their tenure and would stay put in their positions. The Supreme Court, on Wednesday, looked into a huge number of substantial cases but the new constitution amendment case hearing was pushed to January third week. The three dignitaries would stay in power until the verdict is out and hence, would also participate in the Annual General Body Meeting (AGM).

Here is a look at the ZEE5 video with all details related to Saurav Ganguli’s position in the BCCI:

Saurav Ganguly will remain the president of BCCI till January 3rd week since the supreme court is yet to pass a verdict on the new constitution amendments proposed by the BCCI. The new constitution does not allow the Chairman, Secretary, Joint Secretary, and the Treasurer to remain in their position for more than 6 years even if they have been a part of the State cricket associations. The amicus curiae, Mr Narasimha, told ANI that some of the cases are remaining, and the court has asked these to be listed in the third week of January. He also clearly mentioned that BCCI application seeking amendments to its constitution was not taken up on Wednesday.

The case is regarding the new constitution, which was drafted by the Lodha Committee, appointed by the Supreme Court. The application was taken to the top court, requesting a few important amendments to this constitution. One of the most discussed and debated amendment is regarding Rule 45 which speaks about the Supreme Court’s powers in making amendments in the constitution.

Read Varun Dhawan extends birthday greetings to Saurav Ganguly reminiscing India’s 2002 Natwest series win

By now, Chairman Saurav Ganguly, Secretary Jay Shah, and Joint Secretary Jayesh George should have been out of power since they have exhausted the 6-year tenure. After six years, they are expected to go on a three-year break and are free to return after the break period. Since the three dignitaries are still in strong positions, they will also be a part of the AGM on December 24, 2020.

Also read Varun Singh Bhati opens up about fighting polio and becoming a Paralympic medallist

Watch more informative content only on ZEE5

संबंधित विषय

संबंधित बातम्या

More Loader