Bihar Assembly Elections: What Is BJP’s Seat-Sharing Formula For LJP?

BJP National General Secretary Bhupender Yadav is confident of a 3/4th margin victory in the Bihar 2020 polls with an NDA Alliance with JD(U), LJP and HAM

Raghav N

October 1, 2020

Trending News

2 min


As the Bihar Assembly Elections draw closer, a core committee meeting was held in Delhi yesterday by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders and prominent BJP ministers from Bihar in attendance. According to BJP’s Bhupender Yadav, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will stay as a united front, also adding that talks are on with the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), Janata Dal (United) (JDU) and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) on seat-sharing. He stated that the Bihar seat bifurcations will be shared in the next 24 hours and expressed confidence of a 3/4th majority victory.

Sources reveal that the ruling party has offered a 27 plus three formula to the LJP, which constitutes 27 Legislative Assembly seats, two Legislative Council seats and one Rajya Sabha seat for the party.

Of the 42 seats held by the LJP in 2015, they managed to win two seats. This time, the regional party is asking for more seats to contest. If the Chirag Paswan led party is convinced, it will be interesting to see if a collective victory is brought about by the BJP, LJP, JDU and HAM.

Paswan has however made it very clear to his followers that his party is of utmost priority and no external involvement should be allowed to compromise the identity and sanctity of the LJP.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis has been made BJP-incharge for the upcoming Vidhan Sabha elections.

Meanwhile, the Congress is negotiating with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and not agreeing for lesser than 70-73 seats in Bihar, while the latter is offering 58 seats.

Catch all the latest political news only on ZEE5




संबंधित विषय

संबंधित बातम्या

More Loader