Virat Kohli Faces Tough Competition For ICC Player Of The Decade Award

Virat Kohli certainly is one of the best cricketers in the world, but he is still facing a tough competition at the ICC Award for the Player of the Decade.

Tanvi Dhote

November 26, 2020

Trending News

3 min


Virat Kohli is one of the most celebrated players in cricket’s history. This year he is competing for the ICC Player of the Decade Award. But even though he is a strong contender for the coveted trophy, Virat Kohli is facing tough competition from his fellow teammates and other celebrated players from across the globe. Find out more details about this story below.

The Indian Cricket team just finished this year’s IPL season. Soon after this IPL came to an end, it was announced that India will be embarking on an international tour to Australia. The team has already reached the little island and are practicing for the upcoming series. But ahead of their game on November 27, 2020, the ICC Player of the Decade nominations were announced.

Also read | Cricket news: ICC Changes Test Championship rules

This award is one of the most prestigious awards that any cricket player can receive from the ICC. This year’s ICC Player of the Decade Award is being judged on the basis of a player’s performance from 2010 to 2019. Many international players are competing in this category but Indian skipper Virat Kohli is one of the top contenders and his chances of taking home the trophy are pretty high.

But Kohli is facing tough competition from 7 other cricket players. These players are R Ashwin, England’s Joe Root, New Zealand’s Ken Williamson, South Africa’s AB De Villiers, and Australia’s Steve Smith. Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara is also nominated for the award. Moving on, for ICC ODI Player of the Decade Award, apart from Virat Kohli, M.S. Dhoni, and Rohit Sharma, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Starc, AB De Villiers, and Kumar Sangakarra are also in the race.

Also read | Will Virat or Steve Smith break this unique record of Sachin Tendulkar in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

For ICC’s T20 Player of the Decade Award, Rashid Khan, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Imran Tahir, Aaron Finch, Lasith Malinga, and Chris Gayle are nominated. In the ICC Test Player of the Decade category, Virat Kohli is competing with Joe Root, Steve Smith, James Anderson, Ken Williamson, Rangana Herath, and Yasir Shah.

Watch all the latest trending news only on ZEE5.

ബന്ധപ്പെട്ട വിഷയങ്ങൾ

അനുബന്ധ വാർത്തകൾ

More Loader